Alerts & News

MSP Announces Excellence in Research Travel Grant Awardees

posted: March 9, 2022

MISSOURI — The Missouri Society of Pathologists (MSP) today announced the recipients of the Excellence in Research travel grants. Each awardee received a certificate of recognition and $250 to cover the cost of attending the MSP’s annual meeting in Columbia on March 5.

The awardees are:

  • Dr. Aneeza Irfan, PGY2, University of Missouri Kansas City, awarded for “Epidemiology of Respiratory Syncytial Virus during the COVID 19 Pandemic”
  • Caitlyn Smith, Post-Sophomore Fellow, University of Missouri Columbia, awarded for “Tumor Microenvironment in Pancreatic Ductal Adenocarcinoma: Implications in Immunotherapy”

The MSP is pleased to provide the travel grant to pathology residents and fellows in Missouri and to support the future of pathology. The Excellence in Research Travel Grant was established in 2022 and seeks to engage residents and fellows in pathology training programs across the state. The grant looks for applicants with research in the areas of Clinical or Anatomic Pathology as well as Practice Management topics, Pathology Education, or Informatics.